Following the successful example of Venezuela, one of the countries of the Eurasian Economic Union will issue a national cryptocurrency. This will happen in 2018, a Russian politician close to Vladimir Putin claims.

Sergey Glazyev, an advisor to the President of the Russian Federation for Regional Policy, believes that by the end of this year a national cryptocurrency can appear in one of the countries of the Eurasian Economic Union (EEU).

The list of members of the EEU consists of Russia, Kazakhstan, Belarus, Armenia, Kyrgyzstan.

"I think that by the end of this year, one of the countries of the EEU may well announce the creation of a national digital currency," Glazyev said.

Earlier the advisor of the president of Russia supported the idea of Russian digital currency "cryptoruble." Later, he explained his support by saying that the cryptocurrency may help to circumvent financial sanctions.

In January, Sergey Glazyev said that the country of the EEU, which will be the first to issue a national cryptocurrency, will receive "huge advantages."

So far, Venezuela remains the only country in the world that created a national cryptocurrency. The pre-sale of El Petro oil-nacked tokens started on 20 February, with the public crowdsale following it on 20 March.