The list of central banks developing national digital currencies continues growing. Their number reached 18.

Every year, world central banks are increasingly exploring the possibility of launching sovereign digital currencies (CBDC). According to the recent research by The Block, about 18 central banks have publicly recognized the development or plans to launch their own digital currency. At least four central banks have already launched their own digital currencies, and 14 are either developing CBDC or are launching pilot programs in collaboration with third-party blockchain software providers.

The list of these central banks includes regulators of Tunisia, China, Senegal, Sweden, Venezuela, Singapore, Uruguay, Cambodia, the Marshall Islands, Thailand, the Bahamas, Curacao and Saint-Martin, Turkey, Iran, the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, the ECB and others.


During the study, 60 central banks were analyzed. The most popular platform used by central banks to develop digital currency was the corporate blockchain R3 Corda.

Apart from Corda, Hyperledger, Bitt and NEM are also popular platforms among central banks.