The Bitcoin Foundation Board of Directors elections have ended with none of the candidates reaching the 50% threshold.

The Bitcoin Foundation blog reports that a runoff will be held as none of the candidates has won the elections. The registration will be reopened for the runoff for any Bitcoin Foundation members who wish to vote. 

Leading the polls is Olivier Janssens, who won 151 votes (46.7%), missing the majority by 4%. Three other top candidates that will participate in the runoff with Janssens are Jim Harper (41.2%), Bruce Fenton (30.9%), and Michael Perklin (30%). Cody Wilson, who had promised in January to dismantle the Foundation if elected, took the sixth place with 21.3%. 

Janssens, a 35-year-old bitcoin entrepreneur, does not support the current Bitcoin Foundation policies. In his election program, posted on the Foundation forum in January, he protested against the Bitcoin Foundation's influence on the Core Development. 

He claimed that the Bitcoin Foundation should be fully transparent and articulated the agenda which he will promote:

“That agenda should always have at its core 1) more decentralization 2) creating positive Bitcoin awareness and 3) removing any control over Bitcoin from the Bitcoin Foundation.”

A new runoff election has been announced, to be held  from Tuesday, February 24, 2015 to Friday, February 27, 2015 at 11:59pm EST. The two winners will be announced on Saturday, February 28, 2015 if one of the candidates passes the 50% point this time.

Coinfox wrote about the issues surrounding the quorum of eligible members, only 20% of which registered to vote, earlier this week.